icon-facebook   icon-twitter   icon-youtube   icon-instagram   icon-pinterest

Buy Classes Button 1

Iyengar Level 1-2


This class is taught by:

Paula Weithman

Paula uses a mindfulness based practice to guide students into a place of receptivity that develops sensitivity, intuition and self-acceptance. Paula has a background in counseling, rehab and bodywork. She has been practicing yoga regularly since 1982 and meditates using the Pureland Buddhist tradition. Her yoga background is diverse and she continues to study with senior teachers believing a beginner's mind is a fresh mind. She believes that yoga is a medicine for the body as well as the mind, and she incorporates her background as a yoga therapist and mindfulness based psychotherapist into her private practice.

 

She has training through the Iyengar tradition, certified at the Intermediate Jr.2 level, and the Scarvelli method through Namaste International, and is registered at the 500 hour level with Yoga Alliance.

Chris Greene

Chris was introduced to yoga as a form of cross training for martial arts, running and cycling as a pre-teen. A passionate adult study of yoga began in 1998 and an attraction to the Iyengar method developed in 2001 with its intuitive attention to alignment, form and movement. His fun, focused and patient approach to teaching creates a friendly, empowering and supportive climate that guides students on his/her personal level through the fundamental challenges of yoga.

 

Chris is a certified Iyengar yoga instructor through IYNAUS. He completed a 2-year Iyengar Teacher Training program with Peggy Kelley of the Austin Yoga School held at the Dallas Yoga Center, as well as additional studies with Paula Weithman, before continuing his Iyengar training. Today, his practice is centered around the Tibetan form of Buddhism and its Lojong and Lamrim approach. His non-dogmatic teaching incorporates the mindfulness techniques common to most meditation traditions.

Focus is on correct posture, alignment & symmetry. Poses are refined with the use of props. Beginner and Level 1
classes will introduce students to a range of beginning postures including standing postures, and preparations for inversions.

Level 1-2 classes will delve further into more advanced postures and students should be comfortable in inversions.

 


Upcoming classes:

  • Tue Sep 19 9:15 am - 10:45 am with Paula Weithman
  • Wed Sep 20 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Chris Greene
  • Tue Sep 26 9:15 am - 10:45 am with Paula Weithman
  • Wed Sep 27 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Chris Greene
  • Tue Oct 03 9:15 am - 10:45 am with Paula Weithman
  • Wed Oct 04 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Chris Greene
  • Tue Oct 10 9:15 am - 10:45 am with Paula Weithman
  • Wed Oct 11 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Chris Greene
  • Tue Oct 17 9:15 am - 10:45 am with Paula Weithman
  • Wed Oct 18 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Chris Greene
  • Tue Oct 24 9:15 am - 10:45 am with Paula Weithman
  • Wed Oct 25 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Chris Greene
  • Tue Oct 31 9:15 am - 10:45 am with Paula Weithman
  • Wed Nov 01 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Chris Greene
  • Tue Nov 07 9:15 am - 10:45 am with Paula Weithman
  • Wed Nov 08 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Chris Greene
  • Tue Nov 14 9:15 am - 10:45 am with Paula Weithman
  • Wed Nov 15 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Chris Greene
  • Tue Nov 21 9:15 am - 10:45 am with Paula Weithman
  • Wed Nov 22 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Chris Greene